Spotlight – May, 2018

A Note from our President…

So good to see everyone at the Spring Meeting.  It has been such a long winter, that it was nice to talk about boating and the summer months to come.  Thanks to all the Dollar-per-Member clubs that responded to our request so promptly.  A second mailing will be coming soon to those clubs that are just “waking up” for the boating season.  Another exciting celebration this year will be the start of our Centennial Celebration.  The Yachtsmen’s Fund was incorporated in 1919.  We will launch special donor opportunities this fall.

2018 promises to be another exciting year as I-LYA Clubs, with the support of the Yachtsmen’s Fund, host three US Sailing National Championships: Junior Women’s Doublehanded Championship for the Ida Lewis Trophy at Mentor Harbor Yachting Club in July, Chubb US Sailing Junior Championships for the Sears Cup and Bemis & Smythe Trophies at North Cape Yacht Club in August, and the US Team Racing Championship for the Hinman Trophy at the Foundry in Cleveland in September.

Thank you again to our annual members, life members, and all the clubs that participate in our Dollar-per-Member program.  Your support makes our work possible.

Monica Bloomstine
President, Inter-Lake Yachtsmen’s Fund

Gifts to Educate, Challenge, & Inspire the Next Generation…

Recent Memorial Gifts

In Memory of Bill Wells and Mary Wells from Dick & Betty Bliss
In Memory of P/C Leo “Buddy” Durocher from Michelle Durocher

Welcome to our newest Life Members

The following supporters joined the Fund as Life Members during the past year.  Their names will be added to the Life Member list in the I-LYA Yearbook

Raymond Arth, PIBYC
Paul Campbell, CYC
Greater Cleveland Boating Association
Scott Marriott, LMSA
Monroe Boat Club Sailing Fleet
Tim O’Brien, PIBYC
Commodore Ed Payne, FYC
Donna Payne, FYC
Kathy Powers, MBC
Karen Prenger, CCSC
Nate Prenger, CCSC
Tony Prenger, CCSC
Pam Sattler, SSCC
Mark Sprenger, PCYC
Mike Trebilcock, PIBYC
Dave Zmek, LCYC

Ohio State High School Sailing Championship
Hoover Sailing Club
April 28, 2018

Thirteen teams representing 10 Ohio schools competed in windy conditions on April 28, 2018 at Hoover Sailing Club to crown this year’s Ohio High School Sailing Champs.  Finishing 1, 2, 3 were Thomas Worthington High School, Westerville South High School, and Westerville North High School.  Full scores are available online at  Look closely and you will see lots of familiar I-LYA Junior Sailors who will hit the ground running when the Traveler Series kicks off in June.

Pictured are the Ohio High School Sailing Champs representing Thomas Worthington High School: (L-R holding trophies) XiaoJiao Hall, Grace Squires, Zoe Hoctor, and Marshall Wellejus and their coaches (L-R back row) Jamie Jones, Dave Alvarado, and Kyle Assad